top of page
Search
cassieknash

It's Just My Skin


I have never been a fan of compliments. I don't know how to respond when I get them and overall I just get uncomfortable. But there's one compliment out there that I can't stand - "You have beautiful brown skin".


I understand that it's meant to be nice and most people don't mean anything by it. I mean, I am the color people tan to be. It's just, I don't go around telling people their white skin looks really pretty. That'd be stupid right? "Hey, the skin that you were born looks so good on you." Literally, that's so stupid.


The first couple times I heard how beautiful my brown skin was, I honestly didn't mind it too much. I was being noticed, and they thought I was pretty how I was. But comparing it to what the other girls heard - "you look pretty" "you have nice eyes" "that's a cute outfit" - it made me wonder why the thing being pointed out on myself was my beautiful brown skin, something that I can't change. Because it's literally just my skin.


Now you might be wondering, since you can't compliment the color of my skin, what compliments can you can give? Hear me out - the ones you give to every other girl. If the color of someone's skin is the first thing that comes to mind when you want to give a compliment, that right there is part of the issue.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page