top of page
Search
cassieknash

The Black Experiment


Everyone gets their heartbroken at some point. Yes it sucks, but that's a part of life. Mine just so happened to get broken twice in the same week.


I had been friends with this guy for a while, then eventually we started actually talking, seeing if it would go somewhere. We "talked" for a while until eventually we had an actual conversation to see what we were. He didn't see us lasting long term so we ended things.


And that was heartbreak number one.


That sucked but everyone's been there. What can you do? Try and move on and eventually you will. It was going to take time, but it would happen.


Later that week there was a party. He was there which I knew was going to happen, and I knew it would suck. But he wasn't there alone - he was with another girl. And something about us girls, usually the first thing we do is start comparing ourselves to them. What was it about her that made her better than me?


My immediate thought - she was white. He had been trying with me, experimenting with the Black girl to see what that was like. I felt like I was right back to where I was growing up, where I was less than everyone else because of the color of my skin. If I could just change that one thing then everything would get better.


And that was heartbreak number two.


Obviously I know that wasn't his intentions. I haven't expressed my past when it comes to discrimination I've felt or anything along those lines. Just when put in certain scenarios, that's how I feel due my other experiences.


It's not something I just expect people to notice. Some don't realize the affects certain things can have. It sometimes just takes seeing from another perspective to fully understand where others are coming from.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page