top of page
Search
cassieknash

Safe with a Kid


I am biracial, white from my mom and black from my dad. One time I can remember being with my dad in which we had an interaction with the cops.

It didn't phase me too much, just helped open my eyes as it was my first time actually witnessing my dad in this scenario.

I was sitting in my dads car as he ran into a convenience store quick. Right in front of the spot we were parked in was a vending machine. My dad made it back out to the car and started it. He put the car in reverse, then put it back into park.

"Do you want to get a soda out of the vending machine?" he asked me. I obviously said yes. We both got out of the car and went to the vending machine.

When I got out, I noticed a car parked directly behind my dad's, blocking us in. It turned on it's lights and drove away. As it was leaving I noticed it was a cop car.

We got back in the car and my dad said "I saw the cop sitting back there so wanted him to see I had a kid with me." Clearly this worked as the cop left shortly after seeing me get out of the car.

That day, a part of me had a some questions. What would have happened had I not been with my dad? How did my dad know that seeing me would get the cop to leave? Why was the cop blocking us in in the first place?

But the main question I had - how often does this have to happen to my dad for him to be calm in that situation and know exactly what to do?

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page